4th National Skimboarding Competition in Leyte Philippines is a Big Success

Written on January 1, 2008 – 2:57 pm | by Etravel |

Tanauan, Leyte, the Skimboarding capital of the Philippines, successfully hosted the 4th National Skimboarding Competition. Roque Tiu who is the mayor of Tanauan, Leyte proudly announced the big success of the said competition. Because of this big success of the competition, the mayor also said that there will be two competitions annually, the usual national skimboarding competition which the summer or Easter Sunday Competition and the December Competition will still push through every year.

The competition will depend on the availability of the sponsors, Mayor Tiu said. The mayor said that this event needs the support of the national government even though there are people who already pledge to sponsor the competition such as Leyte Governor Carlos Jericho Petilla. The National Skimboarding Competition needs more benefactors and promotional support from the national government so that this competition will really be included in the annual Tourism activities of the Philippines.

The competition was closed by an Awarding ceremonies and Reggae Party which was participated by hundreds of participants, sponsors and spectators from different parts of the country.

The 4th National Skimboarding Competition has three categories which was participated by two hundred skim riders. The categories are the groumet division for the youngsters category, the Wahini Division for the women participants and the Open Men’s Division for the professional skim riders.

In the groumet division, Jhonny Cinco who is defended his title and won this category which was followed by Frande Piamonte, Carl Gabas and Hendric Vargas, all of Tanauan, Leyte. In the Wahini Division, Woman rider Sheryl Pajelleno is still the champion followed by other winners such as Kikay Espada, Tina Cumpio, all of Tanauan; and Jamaica Salceda of Cebu as the 3rd runner up. In the Men’s division, Obet Yanuario emerged as champion which was followed by Dariel Espada of Tanauan as the first runner up, Leo Espada of Tanauan as the second runner up and Dags Hermosa of Cebu placed 3rd runner up.

You might find these articles interesting too:

Post a Comment

Find entries :