Etravel Pilipinas Header
Etravel Pilipinas Home
Etravel Philippines Hotels and Resorts
Etravel Philippines Events and Festivals
Etravel Philippines Travel and Destinations
Etravel Philippines Travel Tips
Etravel Philippines Rediscover
Etravel Philippines Tourism News
  Diving Sites  |  Surfing Sites  | Adventure Travel  |  Philippine Breaking News
Philippine President - MANUEL LUIS QUEZON y MOLINA
Manuel Quezon - Second Philippine PresidentSecond President of the Republic of the Philippines and First president of the Philippine Commonwealth

Nov. 15, 1935-Aug. 1, 1944

Date of Birth: August 19, 1878
Place of Birth: Baler, Tayabas
Father: Lucio Quezon
Mother: Maria Dolores Molina
Espouse: Aurora Aragon
Children: Maria Aurora, Zenaida and Manuel, Jr.
Date of Death: August 1, 1944
Place of Death: Saranac Lake, New York, U.S.
Cause of Death: Tuberculosis
Age at Death: 66
Elementary and Secondary
• Colegio de San Juan de Letran
• Bachelor of Arts, Colegio de San Juan de Letran (1894)
• Bachelor of Law, University of Sto. Tomas
  • He was called "Ama ng Wikang Pambansa" because of his campaign for Filipino as the the national language.
  • Worked as manservant of Rev. Father Teodoro Fernandez, in a church in Intramuros
  • Finished Bachelor of Arts at the Colegio de San Juan de Letran at the age of 16
    Started law practice in 1903
  • Elected governor of Tayabas (now Quezon) in 1905.
  • He never tasted defeat in politics.
  • Was a member of the first Philippine Assembly in 1906.
  • As resident commissioner in the U.S. Congress (1909-1916), he strongly fought for Philippine Independence.
  • Was designated Lieutenant, Captain and Major in the Army during the Philippine Revolution and the Filipino-American War.
  • Served under the leadership Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo and Gen. Tomas Mascardo.
  • Represented the Philippines in the International Congress of Navigation in St. Petersburg, Russia in 1908.
  • Chairman of the majority group, First Philippine Assembly.
  • Returned from the United States after the passing of the Jones Law in 1916, the law which states that the Philippines would be given independence if the Filipinos could prove that they had the capability to run their own government.
  • Was Senate President in 1923.
  • Assured the passing of the Tydings-McDuffie Law which provides for a 10-year moratorium for the independence of the Philippines and which allows for the holding of a Constitutional Convention.
  • Elected President of the Commonwealth of the Philippines on September 17, 1935.
  • The first Filipino Leader to reside at the Malacañang Palace.
  • Initiated the official use of the national language through the Commonwealth Law No. 570.
  • After the Japanese Regime, he fled to the United States where he governed the Philippines up' to the last days of his life.
  • According to him, he would prefer a worst government run by Filipinos to an ideal government run by Americans.

Philippine Information

 >> Basic Facts and Figures  >> Philippine History  >> Philippine People
 >> Philippine Education  >> Philippine Culture  >> Philippine Economy
 >> Philippine Religion  >> Philippine Constitution  >> Philippine Presidents
 >> Philippine Geography  >> Philippine Language  >> Philippine Government
 >> Philippine Climate  >> Philippine Natural Environment  

Home  |  Terms of Agreement  |  Privacy Statement  |  Contact Us