Etravel Pilipinas Header
Etravel Pilipinas Home
Etravel Philippines Hotels and Resorts
Etravel Philippines Events and Festivals
Etravel Philippines Travel and Destinations
Etravel Philippines Travel Tips
Etravel Philippines Rediscover
Etravel Philippines Tourism News
  Diving Sites  |  Surfing Sites  | Adventure Travel  |  Philippine Breaking News
Philippine President - CARLOS GARCIA y POLISTICO

Carlos Garcia - Eighth Philippine PresidentEighth President of the Pebublic of the Philippines
March 18, 1957 - December 30, 1961

Date of Birth: November 4, 1896
Place of Birth: Talibon, Bohol
Father: Policarpio Garcia
Mother: Ambrosia Polistico
Espouse: Leonila Dimatiga
Child: Linda Garcia-Campos
Date of Death: June 14, 1957
Cause of Death: Heart attack
Age at death: 61

Elementary and High School
Mababang Paaralan ng Talibon, Bohol
Mataas na Paaralang Panlalawigan ng Cebu
Siliman University, Dumaguete Cify
Bachetor of Law, Philippine Law School (1923)
  • Tagged as the Prince of Poetry in the Visayas and Poet of Bohol.
  • Taught at Bohol Provincial High School for two years.
  • Two-time congressman, who represented Eastern Visayas (1941).
  • Was Governor of Bohol from 1932 to 1942.
  • Joined the Guerilla Forces who fought the Japanese during the Second World War.
  • Elected Vice-President of President Ramon Magsaysay in 1953.
  • Was appointed Secretary of the Deparment of Foreign Affairs.
  • Took oath as President of the Philippines after the death of President Magsaysay who died in a plane crash on March 18, 1957.
  • Elected President of the Republic of the Philippines at the official presidential election in November, 1957.
  • Implemented the principle of "Pilipino Muna" which aimed to support and patronize Filipino-made produces, Filipino language, music, arts and everything Filipino. Created a program which gave priority to all Filipinos over foreign nationals in the country.
  • Accomplished the $550 million War Damage Claim from Japan for the rehabilitation of the Philippines from destruction caused by war.
  • Was President of the 1971-1972 Constitutional Convention.
  • Was elected President of the Second Constitutional Convention on June 11, 1971

Home  |  Terms of Agreement  |  Privacy Statement  |  Contact Us